Istanbul Programme of Action (IPoA)

What is IPoA?

  • The United Nations Conference on Least Developed Countries IV (UN LDC IV) adopted the IPoA on 13 May 2011 in Istanbul, Turkey.
  • It is a mutually agreed compact between LDCs and their development partners.
  • It succeeds Brussels Programme of Action (BPoA).


Goal of IPoA: To overcome structural challenges faced by the LDCs in order to eradicate poverty, achieve internationally agreed development goals and enable graudation from LDC category.


Objectives of IPoA: National policies of LDCs and international support measures to focus on following objectives:

  • Achieve economic growth in LDCs to at least 7 per cent per annum;
  • Build human capacities;
  • Reduce the vulnerability of LDCs to economic, natural and environmental shocks and disasters, as well as climate change;
  • Enhance financial resources and their effective use; and
  • Enhance good governance at all levels.


Eight Priority Areas for Action

  1. Productive capacity
  2. Agriculture, food security and rural development
  3. Trade
  4. Commodities
  5. Human and social development
  6. Multiple crises and other emerging challenges
  7. Mobilizing financial resources for development and capacity building
  8. Good governance at all levels